PDA

View Full Version : DSLR and lenses

andyapc
12-03-2006, 01:27 PM
Yep - total noob when it comes to DSLR. I've only ever owned a P&S. I hope to get a canon xti someday (a girl can dream, right??) but in the meantime, I've just got one question which I hope doesn't sound TOO incredibly stupid. :blush

How do you handle using a lot of lenses? I mean, with the P&S, I do just that ... point and shoot. But with a DSLR, are you constantly changing lenses? If you're taking pics inside and the kids run outside, do you have to stop, change lenses and then shoot? What if they run to a different room with different lighting? Do you have to stop and change your lense? If your subject is close one second and then far away the next - then what?

OK - so it's more than one question - but I'm just wondering how it all works.

See? Total noob here. :wave

mrs2a50
12-03-2006, 01:55 PM
I am noobin' right along with you! I want to know these answers too, since a DSLR is in my near future, and this is one of my nagging issues.

Lauren
12-03-2006, 02:04 PM
Changing lenses? What's that?? ;)

Seriously - if you pick the right lens, it can stay on your camera a LOT of the time. On my 5D, it takes something major to pry the 24-105 off it. That sort of focal range just works in almost every situation. Shooting wildlife or in extremely low light are the only two times I feel like I NEED to change lenses and to be honest, I don't even bother some of the time! :lol

There may be some times you're caught out, such as if you've put on a a telephoto to go to the zoo and suddenly find a great landscape that would be best shot with a wide angle. But it's a challenge more than anything else - I've shot an entire holiday with a telephoto and managed to get the shots I wanted without feeling like I was missing the wide angle.