PDA

View Full Version : Anyone TEACH digi scrap classes IRL?

LaurenReid
07-16-2006, 11:47 AM
I've had soooooo many people ask me to teach them how to digi scrap, some friends and other are just random people who have seen my work or heard about it from friends.

Do any of you teach digi classes in "real" life? How do you do it? I would love to do it because I LOVE teaching!

Would love to hear how you all put this together.....
Anyone????

xooxoxoxooxox

Holly
07-16-2006, 12:03 PM
no, but i have had lot's of people ask me to!

Dating_Revolutionist
07-16-2006, 12:30 PM
Hi Lauren! (warning: LONG reply!)

I will be teaching a beginning digital scrapbooking class this Fall at a local adult learning center. (I'm in Ohio, btw)

To be honest, the process of finally being able to offer a class was more challenging than I first thought.

I am a professional speaker, coach, and writer. My area of expertise for the past three years has been in coaching single women over 40 as they enter the dating world. I was familiar with marketing my topics to the appropriate venues - but for digital scrapbooking, I had to be a little more resourceful.

First, I approached my local scrapbooking stores. Unfortunately, I discovered that only their staff teaches the classes. No outside trainers are used. I checked with my local computer store (that had in-house training) and found they had the same policy.

I then approched the adult learning center (which in hindsight, should have started there to begin with...). They have many classes for the hobbyist and they had none for scrapbooking. I drew up a proposal, added the recent NYT article about how popular digital scrapbooking has become - and voila! I interviewed with the program director and was accepted in their program.

Here's the funny part: