PDA

View Full Version : How did you become a designer?

EmilyFarnworth
07-17-2006, 09:26 PM
I know some of you come from professional graphic designing backgrounds, but for those of you that don't, how did you learn how to design? I know there are lots of tutorials out there on how to do things, but it all seems so overwhelming!

Kathryn Balint
07-17-2006, 09:52 PM
Emmy,

I started playing around with photo-editing software in 1997, when I was asked to write a newspaper story and review of photo-editing software for home users. I had the opportunity at that time to try several easy-to-use programs that had just come out for consumers.

After that, I used the programs to do more that just edit photos. I used them to make cards and calendars. My favorite of the programs, LivePix, went out of business. So then I stumbled on Paint Shop Pro, which I used for the same sorts of things.

I found digiscrapping in 2004 because I had to make a "memory book" for the kids who were in a play with my son. Technically, I had been making layouts, of sorts, all along. I just didn't have a name for what I was doing. By then, I was already fairly well-versed in Paint Shop Pro.

I am completely self-taught in terms of using graphics programs. I have a little bit of fine arts training but nothing extensive and no degree in it.

AmyTeets
07-18-2006, 06:20 AM
Well I come from a Criminal Justice background ! HAHAHA..nice fit eh! I just started playing around, downloaded all the tuts I could find so I could learn PSE and went from there :D

Kathy Moore
07-18-2006, 06:35 AM
I've been playing in Photoshop for a few years...so when I found digiscrapping, I just played a little harder and figured out how to do what I wanted to do. My first kits were...well, um, let's just say I wouldn't put them in a shop now. But with time and practice, I've learned to do just about everything I want to.

angedawn
07-18-2006, 06:39 AM
Hey Emily! :)