Go Back   DigiShopTalk Forums > Community > Scrap Talk

Old 08-06-2010, 10:30 PM

profile gallery send pm

Location: a lovely town called Syracuse - want to guess where?
Default Question about Disney copyright

Ok, girls - I am not a designer! I am just a scrapper.
Just want to make that clear up front!!!
My question is:
Is there any copyright infringement by making a mickey head for my own personal use on my own layout?

Because I had a certain scrap store delete my page that had mickey heads and a mickey head frame on it that I made myself - strictly for my own use. (I did not distribute anything.)
You can see the page here:

Tell me what you know!

"Life is about Love and Scrappin' is my documentation of that Love."

***My Blog

Last edited by agrievingmommy; 08-06-2010 at 10:36 PM.
Old 08-07-2010, 01:34 AM
Design Member
Gold Member

profile gallery send pm

Denise - the problem isn't that you made it, and are using it for your own personal use. The problem starts when you "publish" your page - then, technically , you are using a known trademarked & copyrighted image without permission. Disney holds all rights to even that just plain black head and ears. A symbol such as that is called a 'service mark' - a well known symbol/logo that is identified with a particular brand or service...in this case, Disney. So - yeah...I can see why the store would have removed your page (which is very cute!). The reasoning for that is that the store would be in just as much trouble as you if they left it up. Disney has and will go after people for these kinds of violations.