Go Back   DigiShopTalk Forums > Scrap Resources > Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:19 AM
Jana1506's Avatar
Jana1506 Jana1506 is offline
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: A German in Alabama
Posts: 1,876
Likes Received: 2
Angry Stargatephoto - You won't believe this!

I just had the most disturbing experience with www.Stargatephoto.com. I totally ignored my husband's advice to purchase from a reputable merchant and went to this cheap site I found. I ordered my camera and everything seemed fine until I got a call about an hour ago from Stargatephoto wanting to confirm my order. Well, turns out they did not only want to confirm my order but pressure me into purchasing expensive, overpriced accessory and such. I told them I am not interested and that I'd just want the camera. The guy tells me, well if you buy "item X" I will upgrade to a new camera. :o Come again? New camera? Isn't this what I ordered all alone? He tells me no, it’s refurbished and if I buy the expensive accessory I'll get a new one. So I tell that guy forget about it and cancel my order. Of course I call Visa right away making sure they did not charge anything. Then I go to tell my husband what happened and he calls that guy back. The dude hangs up on my husband. Then my husband calls back again and asks why they were just trying to sell me a used camera and the dude answers "It does not say anywhere it's new, or does it?" :confused: So my husband tells him that one would expect that merchandise not labeled as "used" or "refurbished" would be considered new, especially when bought from a retail business. So that guy pretty much tells my husband to f**k off and hangs up on him again. (Really, I'm not making this up!).
I now have my camera on order with Adorama for only $20 more and I feel a whole lot better about it.
__________________
Jana
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:25 AM
daisyrose's Avatar
daisyrose daisyrose is offline
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 938
Likes Received: 0
Default

:o Thanks for the warning! I'll bet you'll be watching that Visa bill like a hawk for awhile!
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Rose Brown

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:28 AM
Canay's Avatar
Canay Canay is offline
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 754
Likes Received: 0
Default

Oh my gosh...what rotten service! It doesn't say that it is new??????? I've never heard anything so ridiculous in my life!

Now what have you learned here...we should always listen to our husbands...they are always right...darn it!!!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:31 AM
Jana1506's Avatar
Jana1506 Jana1506 is offline
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: A German in Alabama
Posts: 1,876
Likes Received: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canay
Now what have you learned here...we should always listen to our husbands...they are always right...darn it!!!!!
LOL .. You crack me up!
__________________
Jana
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:50 AM
Lauren Lauren is offline
 
profile gallery
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5,710
Likes Received: 0
Default

Funny, their "About Us" page says everything is new. I guess that's not somewhere that counts in their "anywhere". :roll: Unfortunately I've heard quite a few stories like this of the cheap Brooklyn photo places - I'm sure I read that most of them are owned by the same company so I'd just avoid the lot myself!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:14 AM
diannerigdon's Avatar
diannerigdon diannerigdon is offline
Registered Users
 
profile gallery products send pm
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Home Store:
Posts: 7,231
Likes Received: 0
Default

%$rassle*frassle/& scammers. UGH. I am so sorry but I am glad you figured it out before you lost that money on a USED FRIGGIN CAMERA! Oh that makes me so mad.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:14 AM
Jana1506's Avatar
Jana1506 Jana1506 is offline
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: A German in Alabama
Posts: 1,876
Likes Received: 2
Default

Little update:
I wish I had done all this research before, but I just looked them up and they have a bad rep all over the web. They also sell as Wawa Digital, Accessories Land, I.N.S. Digital World, Stargate Photo, and The Camera Whiz out of
Brooklyn, New York. Not nice guys!
__________________
Jana
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2006, 11:21 AM
Dani~B's Avatar
Dani~B Dani~B is offline
Registered Users
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,679
Likes Received: 0
Default

OMG yeah always go to the bbb.org site to check out a business you are not familiar with
I listened to dh and bought mine from B&H and even then I was antsy until I had the camera in hand. Thanks for heads up and a good PSA!
__________________
~~Dani B.

Blog~~

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2006, 01:27 PM
ina's Avatar
ina ina is offline
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,281
Likes Received: 0
Default

B&H is a good site with a great reputation. I know a lot of pros order from there. Adorama is another good site, too.

Tip for next time: If you ever find a too-good-to-be-true deal on a website, always always check them out here first: http://www.resellerratings.com/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:13 PM
Jezza's Avatar
Jezza Jezza is offline
DST Gold Member
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,003
Likes Received: 0
Default

That is a terrible experience
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump