Go Back   DigiShopTalk Forums > Community > NSBR Chatter

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:10 AM
Scrapdragon's Avatar
Scrapdragon Scrapdragon is offline
Diamond Member
Design Member
 
profile gallery products send pm
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Home Store: E-scape & Scrap
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,342
Likes Received: 1
Default ACDSystems

Did anyone get a strange email yesterday from ACD Systems? I deleted it so I can't copyit here, sorry. But it said I had signed up for their newsletter and wanted me to click a link to confirm it. There was a link which said I could confirm my sign up details so because I was curious, I copied and pasted that into my browser and it had my first name and email address,, but it said I had signed up at 2.42 pm,, I don't know whether that was GMT or EST but either wauy, I wasn't even at home at either time.

At first I thought it was from ACDC,,, but then reaised it wasn't,, never heard of this company at all,, has anyone else?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2007, 12:12 AM
milo82's Avatar
milo82 milo82 is offline
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 14,967
Likes Received: 0
Default

I wouldn't got there...Acd systems is ACDSee and not ACDC!
And I do acdsee's newsletter and haven't received that email!
__________________
Petra a*k*a milo82

Creative for:
After five designs - Jazzmin designs-
Createwings designs - Creashens

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2007, 04:27 AM
saab's Avatar
saab saab is offline
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 755
Likes Received: 0
Default

I got it, but didn't really click anything because I didin't know where it came from Have no idea what ACD systems is??

Copy of email:

Dear Sonia ,

Click the link below to automatically confirm your subscription to the ACD Systems Ltd. Email List:
Confirm Your Subscription
You have 30 days to submit your confirmation.

If you do not want to join, simply do not respond.

To find out the exact date and location your email address was entered, follow the link below:
How was I added?

If you think your email address may have been used without your consent, follow the link below:
Report Abuse

Thank You,

ACD Systems Ltd.
__________________
Cheers Sonia


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:34 AM
Scrapdragon's Avatar
Scrapdragon Scrapdragon is offline
Diamond Member
Design Member
 
profile gallery products send pm
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Home Store: E-scape & Scrap
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,342
Likes Received: 1
Default

Hi Sonia
That's it exactly! I didn't click it, just copied and pasted the middle link into my browser. I think it was phishing but it was a little freaky how they gave my name and email and the supposed time I signed up,, had me wondering where I had been and what I was doing all day!
Good idea to make people aware of it anyway, thanks for posting it
B x
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2007, 06:34 AM
Connie@DigiScrapInfo.com's Avatar
Connie@DigiScrapInfo.com Connie@DigiScrapInfo.com is offline
Registered Users
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,421
Likes Received: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to Connie@DigiScrapInfo.com
Default

Hi,
ACD Systems, Inc is the name of the company that creates the products called ACDSee. But they tend to go by ACDSee also.
__________________
________
{ Connie } .....................Heidi's sister

Heidi has Digiscrapinfo now - I can be found at www.conniebensen.com

ACDSee Tutorials
Got Questions? We have Answers!



Last edited by Connie@DigiScrapInfo.com; 09-22-2007 at 07:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-22-2007, 07:25 PM
Heidi@DigiScrapInfo.com Heidi@DigiScrapInfo.com is offline
Registered Users
 
profile gallery send pm
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 596
Likes Received: 0
Default

Connie is going to notify ACDSee about those emails. I agree they just don't appear legitimate especially if you haven't just subscribed to their newsletter. In the meantime, do not give any information if you click on the links and be suspicious. Even better don't click on the links. That is the best way to save your computer/personal info from sabotage/theft/etc.
__________________
________
Heidi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump